Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

Thoughts on romance

It’s May 30 as I write this, meaning we’re two days away from June.  And to this blogger, June means a series of writing challenges put forth by one of my WordPress peeps, The Finicky Cynic.  She calls it “The June Jour Challenge,” which consists of various topics to write about and/or methods in which to write them.

In the previous two Junes, I poured my all into the challenges F.C. put forth.  And I’m looking forward to whatever F.C. is set to serve up this June, depending on how busy her June will be.  But today I realized… oh, gosh!  I missed a couple of prompts she served up last June!

But I will try to rectify that here by picking up where I left off last June, by responding to this prompt F.C. put forth about romantic relationships.  “Is it a social institution that you subscribe to, challenge, or both,” she asks.

Hmmm…  After rereading that prompt, I’m beginning to remember why I didn’t respond to this prompt last June.  I’d love to happily answer this question, but… well, I’m not in a romantic relationship at the moment.  It’s not that I haven’t tried, though.  I did have a romantic relationship with a girl, but that lasted for a year and it was over two decades ago.  And I’ve tried the speed dating thing a few times (in male mode, mind you), but those attempts have resulted in very, very little matches (I do at times come across as being less than confident).

So, yeah, I’m definitely not the person who’d be able to offer sage advice on romantic relationships.  But, then, that hasn’t stopped anyone else who’s not in a relationship.  So, let me say that while I’m not currently “subscribed,” to borrow FC’s verbiage, to the institution that is being in a steady romantic relationship, it is something I do appreciate seeing.  I see it in both of my sisters; the older of the two has been married for 16 years, while the younger is engaged to be married.

Both of my sisters are very happy in their relationships.  And that’s an important word in any relationship:  Happiness.  If you are happy to be with your partner, it will spread to the partnership you share, and that will make the physical aspect of your relationship all the better.  (Don’t worry, I won’t venture into anything dirty here.)

One more thing about happiness, and that’s making sure your partner is happy.  No, I don’t mean anything like doing all the housework for them while they sit back on the couch; the two of you have got to share such duties.  It’s things like telling them you love them, offering them a token reminder of that fact, or even just offering an ear to hear their concerns about life.  If I were to be in a relationship, I wouldn’t be happy if my partner wasn’t happy.  I would extend that to any relationship that’s not romantic.  If I get the short end of a deal or lose out on that last piece of pizza, I would be satisfied knowing someone has a little bit of satisfaction… which could possibly lift their entire day.

Would I love to be in a relationship right now?  Would I love to finally get out of the “single life”?  Yeah, I would.  But I’m at the point in my life (I’m 47) where it’s a strong possibility that I will never find that Mr., Ms., Miss, or Mx. Right (or whatever honorarium precedes the “Right”).  It’s being so accustomed to the single life that prompts me to say that.  I will likely die an old spinster in a house full of cats.  Which is impossible, really… since I’m allergic to cats (even though I love cats).

Will I make more efforts to get into that seemingly (for me) unattainable relationship?  I’m sure I will, although I’m hep to the fact that my chances dwindle by the day.  But I’ll keep hoping for that special someone who I can connect with on an emotional level… and who will accept me for who I am (Allison and all) and be happy with me.  And if they’ll be happy with me, that would be the most awesome feeling.

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Comments are closed.