Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

A thought about how to come out

Leave a comment

While I wrote my last post about how Colin Mochrie’s child came out to their family as a transgender woman, a thought was running through my mind.  But it wasn’t so much about the fact of one coming out to their family as, well, anything other than a cis-gender straight person.  Rather, it was more about how they come out.

Recently, I was part of a conversation with some folks; to ensure anonymity, I won’t say where this conversation was.  The conversation turned to coming out, specifically how some of them came out.  One took the same route Kinley Mochrie took with her family, sitting right down with them and telling them she identified as a transgender female.  Another disclosed their identity to their friends first before coming out to one supportive family member, and then another, and then to their parents (the better to have at least some familial support lest Mom and Dad were dismissive; thankfully for all involved, they were supportive).  A third person, estranged from their family, came out only to their friends, eschewing the face-to-face talk with their folks.  A fourth person took the comparatively unconventional route and came out on Facebook, friends and family be dammed.

So, four different ways of coming out to someone.  All were different in their own way, but all were done in a way each felt comfortable with.  As well, these people felt strong enough and comfortable enough to come out to the people they felt important enough to come out to, and doing so on their own terms.

I just had do admire each of them for how they went forth on coming out.  I had to admire them for just coming out in the first place.  I would love to have the braveness to come out to my family as something other than the straight, cis-gender male they’ve always known me (or at least presumed me) to be.  Perhaps the brave approaches these people took in coming out will one day help to inspire me.

Whatever you came out as or however you did it, feel free to share your story below.  Perhaps you can inspire me to come out one day.

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

