Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

Same old Valentine’s Day

Leave a comment

As I write this, it is February 15, or as it is commonly known, the day after Valentine’s Day.  You know, the day meant to be all about love, romance, and buying every single rose and “Be My Valentine” card in sight.

So, you’re asking, how did my Valentine’s Day go?  I’ll get to that part in a second.  But I will say that Valentine’s Day for the most of the rest of the people at my place of employment felt like another day at work.  Oh, for sure, some folks got a bouquet of flowers, although very few in my department received any.  And, for sure, department management tried to say “we love your work” by enticing us with bags of chips… which I politely declined, as I’ve been seriously watching my calorie intake.  (And, really… the same chips you’d find in your nearest vending machine?!  Come on now.)  But generally speaking, it felt like another work day for most of the rest of the department.

As for my Valentine’s Day… well, it felt like another day at work for me as well:  Doing the same old work, listening to the same old radio, clicking on the same old podcasts.  Yeah, you understand the drill.  And since I don’t have that special someone in my life to share a romantic relationship with, there’s no card or flowers to send to them or receive from. *sigh*

But at this point in my life, that’s okay.  I’m used to being single, and will probably be single for the rest of my days… although I still imagine having that special someone to come home to, grow old with, have romantic evenings with, perhaps even share fashion tips with.  Yeah, you know what I’m talking about.  But I’m not actively pursuing that special someone at the moment, nor is anyone beating down my door and asking me to be the love in their life, and I’m content with that as well.

What I am content with is sending each of my four wonderful nieces a Valentine’s Day card.  I know, I know, you’re calling me a blind consumer for taking money from my bank account and putting it into Hallmark’s financial ledger.  But the way I see it, I’m fulfilling the role of proud, dutiful uncle.  So the first thing Monday morning, I sent each of them (and my Mom as well) a Valentine’s Day card.  And I’m glad to know that they received them in the mail on… wait for it… the day after Valentine’s Day.  My and the Postal Service’s timing isn’t the greatest in the world; maybe I should’ve sent them first thing Saturday, though that wouldn’t have been a guarantee they would’ve received the cards on Valentine’s Day itself.  But at least it’s the thought that counts, and I’m content that my nieces did receive my cards and enjoyed them… and that their uncle unconditionally loves them any day of the week, not just on a day in which Hallmark makes a mint.

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

