Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

Random fashion stuff (2/12/2017 edition)

Leave a comment

No doubt about it, the news since You Know Who became you know what has become difficult and at times frightening to hear.  So, it’s good to get away from the freakout fest that is social media and the 24/7 news cycle to venture into other pursuits, if only for a few hours.  Friday night, I went to a hockey game.  Next week, I’m planning to see a live theater show.  In a couple of weeks, I’m hoping to head to an auto show (and I’m not even a gearhead type).  And yesterday, I went to the mall.  To be specific, I went to Macy’s at Hilldale to do a little window shopping and rack browsing.

I wanted to share a couple of discoveries I already shared to the world on Twitter yesterday yet still want to go into detail here.  Let’s start with this item:

While this isn’t the greatest of pictures, these are two pretty nice dresses.  And while the dress on the left has a nice and classy feel (and a necklace that is an eyecatcher in its length), the sheath dress on the right really pops.  I already have a colorblock dress in my closet that I really love (I showed it off here), and if I was in a mood to buy something yesterday (and, sadly, I wasn’t), this particular colorblock dress would’ve gone right next to it.

If I may be honest, the above Calvin Klein colorblock dress is a little more dramatic than the one I have (Bisou Bisou, for the record).  While mine has a flattering white panel running down the middle to contrast the black paneled sides and sleeves, this one is literally yin and yang:  Black poly/spandex to the right, fair-colored blossom to the left.  They come together to create a keyhole opening that allows some skin to show at the neckline.  While you can’t really make out that opening in the above pic (shooting from a distance with my phone’s camera app isn’t the greatest at times), you can make it out in the entry for this dress on Macy’s website (which can be found here).  Or better yet, stop by your nearest Macy’s (that is, if there is one in your town) and check it out for yourself; it’s definitely an awesome dress.


One other pic I tweeted yesterday is less about the outfit and more about reminding myself to keep going with my fitness goals:

As I’ve mentioned over a week ago that I’m currently in the process of watching my weight.  Or, to be more precise, watching what and when I eat so that I can keep an eye on my weight.  Some of that plan includes exercising a little more in any way possible.  And while I can’t hit the gym every single evening, at least I have been hitting it on the weekends.  (The recumbent machine and treadmill runs have become my favorites, though I should hit the weights more to put some muscle on my arms.)

This plan of mine to keep exercising (or at least try to) along with my fondness for tees with cute messages on the front combined to appreciate the above display.  If I dared to hit the gym at work as Allison and not Male Mode Me, it’s for certain I could rock this shirt and these workout pants.  And the message could motivate me even more… and perhaps motivate anyone else in the gym.  For the record, this top is found here on Macy’s website, albeit in plus size (not that there’s anything wrong with that).  But if “training like a girl” isn’t your type of tee or tank message (though you should still train, whatever your gender identity), Macy’s has a whole assembly of graphic workout tops here.

Oh, and about that weight monitoring thing of mine… I’m two weeks into it and… well, I won’t get into specific numbers at this time, but let’s just say the plan is working.  I have indeed lost a few pounds, and the exercising is helping to shed some of that fat percentage from that weight scale number.  And the exercising works, for sure; I had a 2-1/2 hour workout earlier today, mainly on recumbent and treadmill, and the fat percentage on the scale was less after the workout than it was before.  Don’t let anyone tell you exercise doesn’t make a difference.  Even the simplest of exercises not only helps keep you fit, it helps you feel good afterwards… even if 2-1/2 hours’ worth leaves the body somewhat pooped.

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

