Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

Allison offers an unsolicited suggestion

Leave a comment

I am currently in the middle of a week-long break from work.  It’s not that I need the vacation.  Well, okay, I do.  Let me actually rephrase that:  I actually need to take a vacation.  Let’s just say Male Mode Me is a workaholic and isn’t one to travel too far for a vacation, let alone take one.

But that’s not to say I don’t appreciate the good things that a week away from work can bring.  I can just relax, do some volunteering, and… yep, go shopping!  Especially at this time of the year, when every store is wrapped up, figuratively speaking, in the hustle-bustle of the holiday season.  So it was last Saturday, when I decided to just browse around the mall down from where I live and came across several displays of cool clothing at Boston Store.  Like, say, this one in particular:

A brief description of the above pic:  The mannequin to your left as a two-piece outfit consisting of a shiny silver top with revealing cutouts at the shoulders along with a black skirt.  The mannequin on your right is bundled up in a long-sleeve red top and leather leggings and is bundled up in a long, scarf-like vest and an actual faux fur scarf.  Both outfits look pretty awesome, but as I indicated in the above tweet, I would really feel nice and warm in the outfit on the right.

What warmed me even more than that outfit would were some responses to the above tweet.  The general consensus was that both outfits were indeed cute, and one of those responses included a suggestion of moving that faux fur scarf from the outfit on the right and draping it over the outfit on the left.  That person was right:  That cozy scarf would look [*insert sing-songy voice*] AW-esome draped over that silver top.

That suggestion was so spot-on [*insert sing-songy voice again*] AW-esome that I went ahead and made a suggestion to one of the Boston Store clerks.  While purchasing some hand cloths for my bathroom at the checkout, I casually pointed the clerk’s attention to the display and mentioned that, yeah, that cozy tan scarf on the right would look perfect draped over that silver top on the left.  Just a passing suggestion, I told her.

And the clerk said… yeah, okay.

“Yeah, okay”?  I admit I was kind of crushed by her presumed lack of enthusiasm over my kind suggestion.  And I knew my suggestion would probably be brushed off, especially when coming from some customer.  But part of me was wishing the clerk would have been a little more receptive.

But that’s okay, though.  The main thing about this is that everyone is their own style icon.  They can dress as stylish as they wish, utilizing whatever pieces of clothing they can grab a hold on.  Department store displays, advertisements, and online information only provide suggestions.  But all of that can serve as inspiration for one’s style.  If you want to dress exactly like the mannequin you see at the department store, that’s okay.  But don’t fear having a little bit of inspiration.  For inspiration can go a long way.

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Leave a good word or two :)

