Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

A poem: “Darkness”

Leave a comment

Presented without any extra comment, a poem that sums up how I’ve been feeling this week.

“Darkness”

Oh, what a lovely day!
What a thrill to be outside today!
Walking down the street
Without a cloud in the sky
Friendly people passing by
Seemingly not a care in the world
As I let the freedom to be me unfurl

But… wait…

The clouds are increasing
The daylight, it is fleeing
Suddenly, there are dark skies
Foreboding skies
Warmth has been taken over
By a winter-like chill
A years-long chill
It had just been a lovely day today
But why has the warmth gone away?

Hey… wait…

Winter is upon us now
But I don’t see snow
I see evil eyes aglow
Lurking out from darkened corners
Creeping out beyond unseen borders
Eyes that carry hate in their hearts
And evil thoughts on their minds
This darkness is what they have bred
Darkness that is now blooming
Darkness that is now exploding
Darkness that is threatening us all

It’s darkness all around
And all I have to protect me
Is this own light inside me
Sure, it’s not the brightest of lights
But it’s just enough light to shine on me
Just enough light to shine for me
Just enough to give me time to flee
To a little corner of safety

Yes… I know…

My light is the smallest of lights
Only a small relief from darkness might
But this little light of mine
I must let it shine
I have to let it shine
Let it shine all around me
Enough so that the world can see
Hatred’s darkness may go low
But with my light, I must aim high

But… wait!

But what is this I see?
Other people just like I
Others who have been as fearful as I
Others who have as good a spirit as I
Others with warm hearts like mine
And with hopeful spirits like mine

And what do they have that I see?
They have, from inside, their own little light
Each may not be the brightest of lights
But together, they’re turning our collective night bright
Creating light that surrounds us
Light that illuminates us
Light that shows the real us
The brave us
The proud us
Our lights, unified, shine brightly
Shining high, into the sky
For all the world to see
That though hatred’s darkness is going low
Together, we must all aim high

Hey… wait!

Our light is driving the darkness away!
But the darkness mustn’t get away!
We can’t let them get away!
For darkness must see the light of day
And see a light that must shine bright
So that day can convert from this night
And that evil eyes can see what’s right

And what is right?
Pride! Love! Respect!
Compassion and support!
These are what’s right
During this terrifying night
Pride! Love! Respect!
Compassion and support!
These are the lights
That can make this darkness bright
For not only I
But for people just like I
And others who love us
And others who support us
These lights create a needed port
From the storm of hate
That envelops us today

Yes, I am afraid
I am still very afraid
Afraid of this darkness today
But I hope and pray
That He will love us
That He will support us
That He will embrace us
With His own brand of light
His all-powerful light
That turns our dark days bright
And casts light over the world
And allows love and hope to unfurl
It’s love and hope that we need today
May love and hope never, ever go away

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Leave a good word or two :)

