Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

The mo(u)rning after

Leave a comment

It’s after 6AM in Madison as I write this, and by now you’ve already heard the news:  A vain, egotistical, lewd, misogynistic, hateful, womanizing deviant and male chauvinist has earned enough electoral votes to become the next President of the United States.  A moment virtually the whole world had been dreading has now come to fruition.  It had been a moment I worried about as well, more so during the past week.  I admit the past several nights, I haven’t gotten enough sleep as I should.  It’s hard to make your brain relax when something with such big impact as who America’s president could be is so scary.  Yeah, not even thinking about, say, some dirt road in far northern Ontario that you saw on Google Maps’ Street View just earlier in the day is enough. *sigh*

I’m certainly not the only one who had been worried before last night and are now in deep shock and fear this morning.  An online friend of mine (I’ll withhold her name for privacy’s sake, although I will say she is, like me, a part of the LGBT community in general and the crossdresser community in particular) started voicing thoughts of real fear.  I mean, she was truly terrified over the possibility of what did happen last night would happen.  And now it did happen.  Which has left my online friend sad beyond description.  She’s planning her next move post-… well, you know, and let’s just say it involves relocating and maybe deactivating her Twitter account.  She wasn’t joking the past 7 days, and she doesn’t appear to be joking now.  If that’s the case, I’m truly sad to see her go.  From my previous interactions with her, she has been nothing but friendly, outgoing, and vibrant.  Leaving her feminine persona behind will leave me with a deep hole in my heart.  If my friend is reading this, I hope you know that there are those who will still love, adore, and respect you unconditionally, in-person and online.  (Oh, note to self:  I somewhere gotta buy a certain yellow-and-black driving costume in tribute to her.)

So, what about me?  Well, I am pretty scared to death, not just for myself personally but for the LGBT community as a whole.  All the progress we’ve gained now appears tenuous come January 20.  Will we now live in fear?  Will we be afraid?  As for me, will I dare to venture out as Allison again?  Will the video I posted over the weekend be the last time I do so, out of fear of personal safety?  It’s certainly human nature to have these thoughts of fear and worry.  And for good reason, what with a new leadership that’s been quite anti-LGBT about to take hold of our country.  But there’s a part of me that desires to brave the cold winter winds that are figuratively about to strike.  I hope and pray that my LGBTQ sisters and brothers will stay strong and never, ever give up the fight.

Since I have still go to work, I’ll leave you with some lovely comments I came across on Twitter this morning.  These people communicate in 140 characters what the LGBTQ community must still do, now more than ever — stay positive, stay strong, stand up for our rights, and never buckle down.

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Leave a good word or two :)

