Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

A poem: “Costumes”

Leave a comment

As I’ve made mention in the past, I’ve never gotten into the Halloween spirit.  In my adulthood, I’ve rarely dressed up for the sole purpose of dressing up on Halloween (though I’ve broken that rule a time or two, as evidenced here).  And today, you’ll probably see me averting my gaze from whomever may be wearing a Halloween costume, not necessarily because their costume may be grotesque but more like, “Yeah, let me just imagine you as the professional employee you usually are.”

As a crossdresser, of course, any day of the year can be Halloween for me.  I imagine many of my fellow CDs feel the very same way.  And to them, this poem is for you:

“Costumes”

Wow, there are so many characters today
A monster here
An werewolf there
An Austin Powers way over there

Oh, so you’re a witch today, huh?
Oh, me?  Nope, no costume for me
You may be a witch today
But I can be a bitch any day

What do I mean, you ask?
What, you didn’t see me in costume lately?

You didn’t see me shopping downtown?
Pairing that short skirt with those high heels
And that black leather jacket
And curly red hair?

You didn’t see me at the mall either?
I was wearing a flowered dress
And adorned with bangles and necklace
And long blonde hair down to there?

What?  You mean you didn’t see me then?
Wait… you were there then?
And you didn’t notice it was me?
(Damn, I’m good!)

Well, in a way, I’m glad you didn’t
I may not have looked like a monster or ogre
But blending in with the crowd
Is a great feeling to have, over and over

Yeah, you did see me
Yeah, it was me
What you saw was another side of me
There’s the male side in front of you today
But also a female side I love to occasionally display
Maybe not today
But any day

Yes, I have two sides to me
Put them together and I become a better me
A warmer me
A more friendly me
A more compassionate me
And while I don’t make it a big deal about me
I’m glad that you now know about the other me

So, you may be a witch today
But I can be a bitch any day
(Well, pseudo-bitch)
But in a way, you could say
That I am in costume today
(Well, sort of)
Halloween may be, for you, one dress-up day
But for me, it can be the other 364 days

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Leave a good word or two :)

