Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

My closet door

Leave a comment

So, what kind of doors do you have for your closets?  My closets are wide enough to necessitate big doors.  But they’re not perfect doors.

This photo I tweeted last month is of the closet in one of my bedrooms (I have a 2-bedroom apartment).  The closet in what I call my “back bedroom” (because my apartment’s back door leads into it) has enough space for all of my girly wardrobe and wigs.  Since the closets are wider than they are deep, they need accordion style doors to keep things hidden.

Unfortunately, these accordion doors aren’t the greatest in the world.  And as you can tell from the door being almost completely dislodged, the daily push-and-pull I put on these faux wood doors make them prone to coming off their tracks.  So, after cleaning out this particular closet during my vacation, I included with my rent check a note asking Creepy (the entity I call my landlord, as I mentioned here) to send a maintenance person over to repair the track and the door.

Which led me to a little bit of fretting.  As I’ve mentioned several times on here, my family does not know about my feminine side as Allison.  When my mom and sister came down here a couple of times to visit, I’ve gone so far as to box up virtually all of my girly stuff and temporarily relocate them to either my storage area in the building basement or even the trunk of my car (when I had a car big enough), not bringing them back into my bedroom until after they left.

The same secrecy about Allison goes for my landlord as well.  My current landlord has always seemed to me to be the conservative type, having disdain for any *ahem* alternative lifestyles.  Which made me think about how laws enacted in Wisconsin in very recent years that have generally given landlords the upper hand in relations with tenants.  Yeah, I know most of those state laws have to do with drug possession or other illegal activities on the tenant’s part, and male tenants who dress up in female clothing wouldn’t apply.  But, still, it made me pause and think… would Creepy evict me because of Allison?

Which brings me to last Saturday.  I had no idea when Creepy would send her maintenance man over, meaning that unlike my family coming down to visit, I would not have time to stow away my girly stuff.  Just after 12 noon, I heard my doorbell, and lo and behold there was the maintenance guy telling me, “Yeah, I hear your closet door needs fixing.”  So, after a quick straightening out of my very messy back bedroom, I let the guy in and crossed my fingers.  In no less than 15 minutes, he was able to put in a new track and fix the broken door back to how it was before.

But a pleasant thing happened:  The maintenance guy apparently didn’t notice my feminine wardrobe or my wigs on the top shelf.  He didn’t ask, I didn’t tell.  Two things probably helped:  The guy was far too busy to notice whatever I had in my closet, and my (unbroken) left hand door was left mostly closed, meaning most of my wardrobe (save for the wig heads) were left hidden.  Yay for me!

So, now I have a fixed closet door.  I also have my dignity intact, not to mention my secret feminine side.  Which gets me to thinking, perhaps the maintenance guy wasn’t going to snitch on me to Creepy anyway.  For all I know, perhaps he did make at least a passing glance at my wardrobe.  But at least he never broached the subject.  Which left me feeling relieved that my crossdressing secret is safe for another day… until the day when I can disclose my secret by my own accord.

 

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Leave a good word or two :)

