Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

Putting a ring on it

Leave a comment

One of these days, I hope to write a post about the main shopping/nightlife attraction in Downtown Madison, State Street.  But here in this really quick post (anything to keep my writing juices flowing), I want to show something that made my heart melt when spotting it yesterday…

One of the jewelry stores on State Street put a sign out on the sidewalk announcing a big sale on some of their items.  Of course, two items you think of when you think “jewelry store” are wedding rings and engagement rings.  I’m no expert on jewelry, but I imagine those types of rings are not what most jewelry stores would like to mark down.  But this store has, however, according to this sign.

7-16-2016 341-29pm

Yeah, I’ll go ahead and admit it, this made my heart go pitter-patter just a little bit.  You know, in a “Oh, that’s so beautiful” kind of way.  I think my mind was concentrating too much on the thought of a marriage proposal and how beautiful it can be.  You know, the parts about getting down on one knee, professing your undying love, saying a lot of other stuff that makes one mushy, and presenting the engagement ring.

Yeah, you could probably tell by now that I’m single. *sigh*

Though I didn’t express it out loud (so to speak) until this morning (on Twitter), this sign and this sale made me want to shout this:

Quick.  Somebody propose to me.  Yeah, that’s what I said.  Just to say again, I am single. *sigh*

So, how could this sign and this sale make me want someone to pop the question to me?  Well, other than the moment of the event that I mentioned above, I am almost 47 years old, I haven’t been on a date in eons (outside of speed dating, a topic that’s for another post perhaps)… and I’ve gotten far too adjusted to the single life and dream of having someone sweep me off of my feet.  And getting down on one knee.  And proposing (with perhaps nothing more than the ring from a soda can pop-top).  Heck, even if all that was just play acting and improvisation and not the real thing — i.e. just making a scene for the sake of making a scene — I know I would still enjoy the moment.

So, would any of you like to “sweep me off my feet”?  I mean, look at the sign up there; they have engagement rings at 50% off!

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

