Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

A word about “Sue”

Leave a comment

I want to follow up on a post I wrote last June in which I fulfilled a writing challenge to talk about someone I look up to.  I devoted most of that post to someone I only referred to for Male Mode Me’s privacy concerns as “S.”

However, there was someone else I mentioned in passing in that post, and for reasons that will become apparent, I devote this follow-up to her.  For the sake of reference (and to differentiate her from “S”), I’ll refer to that someone else as “Sue.”  I’ll start with this segment from my earlier post, in which I talked about the job search that led me to the employer I have now.  Said employer had a certain position…

The opening was for a call center-type of financial services position, and I had a very good interview with the hiring manager.  She wasn’t sure about my qualifications, however, and she suggested another position in another department that was available.

“Sue” was that hiring manager I had that interview with.  And it was “Sue” who suggested another position in another department that I went for.  And that move led me to a successful interview — and long-lasting friendship — with “S,” and to the job I have today at this same company.

And it was I who, after “Sue” offered me a just-opened position on her team (the same type of position I interviewed with her earlier), respectfully declined the opportunity to join “Sue’s” team.  That was 14 years ago.  And though I’m not sure if “Sue” still remembered my interview with her and how she indirectly contributed to the position and duties I currently have at our company, I didn’t forget “Sue” for all that she did.  Admittedly, I never got to think “Sue” in person, but that’s okay.  At least I would get to cross paths with her every now and again, especially when a rearranging of departments put the two of us in the same division, Male Mode Me as a support person and “Sue” as a department manager (we were in the same division but not part of the same branch in the organizational tree).

Unfortunately, that path crossing ended today.  One of those “Organizational Announcement” e-mails that always makes want to whistle past the proverbial graveyard came out at midday from the vice-president of our division.  He cited the “always evolving business environment” our company is in and the need to “adapt and change” in announcing that… *sigh* “Sue” is no longer with our company.

The news of “Sue’s” departure left me rather shocked and kind of depressed the rest of the day, even though, as I noted above, “Sue” and I weren’t part of the same branch of the department’s tree.  Reading between the announcement’s lines, though, I got the impression that our department needed one less manager, and that “Sue” wasn’t leaving due to any perceived performance issues (for all I know, “Sue” could have been leaving on her own accord).  Whatever the case, knowing that even a person as prominent in our department and our company as “Sue” was can depart so suddenly left me knowing that, hey, nobody is assured of job security.

But I will just plug along with my duties and be the best employee I can be.  That’s all that I can do.  I do hope, however, that one day, “Sue” and I will cross paths again, either on official business or a get-reacquainted meeting online (note to Male Mode Me: Check your LinkedIn updates after writing this post.)  If and when we do, I’ll make it a point to remind “Sue” about her small role in my professional career — and to show her my gratitude.

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

