Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

A poem: “A Brighter Day”

Leave a comment

I took a couple of days off from work, yesterday and today, to use up some vacation time I needed to clear from the ledger by the end of the month lest I let it go unused.  I’m glad I did because the weather here in Madison cooperated:  Bright sunshine, temperatures in the bearable 50s, and no hints of rain.

The large part of these two off days from work were spent on my female side:  No, I didn’t take photos, but I bought a couple of nice clothing items and had some dress-up time.  I also took advantage of the nice weather and imbibed in my favorite outdoor activity — walking.  When you take a walk outside on a nice day, you get in some exercise, you take in nature’s beauty, and you clear your head of the bad things in life.  One of those bad things is the nature of our current political discourse:  Unless you’ve been in a cave in some remote area somewhere, there’s a presidential campaign going on, and the candidates have been making their way through Wisconsin; among them is a certain snake oil salesman (I won’t dignify him with a mention of his name) who let off some hot air down the road from Madison today, in the city of Janesville.

But presidential politics were the last thing on my mind these past couple of days.  I just wanted to enjoy some Me Time.  And some Springtime, since winter is (hopefully) behind us.  That’s the inspiration for my latest poetry attempt.  It’s just a quick thing I decided to throw together, and I hope you like it.

“A Brighter Day”

The snow is gone
The cold is gone
Winter is gone

Daylight is growing
Life blossoms again
And it’s a feeling of warmth
And things brand new

But, please, not the bad kind of warmth
The warmth of wrath is not good
That warmth comes only from cold hearts
And those with impure intentions
Who want us to live an unending winter
That brings only the chill of fear

No, we’ll take the warm skies
And the warm temperatures
For they also bring warm thoughts
And warm thoughts bring warm feelings

That warmth is what we all have
That warmth is what we all need
So let’s share that warmth
And spread that warmth around
For we’ll all have a brighter day
When that warmth envelops the land

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

