Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

Trolls = Spam!

Well, for the first time since I started this blog, I got trolled.  You know that post about bullhorns, er uh, transgender issues I sincerely posted yesterday?  Well, last night some unidentified person looked up my post somehow, decided they were offended by it, and sought retribution by submitting a comment for approval.  Actually, I shouldn’t say that they were anonymous:  This person did have a name attached to their comment, but it did not link to any WordPress account or any other writing or commenting platform, so it’s likely they just put together a first and last name and did their thing.

So, what did they have to say?  Well, what they said left me disgusted and confused:  Disgusted because of their tone and their lack of grammar, confused over what they were trying to get at.  Needless to say, I was so turned off by their comment that… well, I’ll tell you what I did with it later.  Unfortunately, I still have (as of this writing) the e-mail alert of their comment WordPress sent to me, so I will show some of what this person said.  Hold your nose, because it’s going to get disgusting.  The italics (and the bad grammar) are theirs.

“IT’s the same legislative body that is controlled the push against second Admendment rights that have pened the bathroom legislative issues.”

This was their second sentence, so it was obvious they ran off the rails right away (I mean, look at their bad grammar).  This part did sound like a comparative analysis, equating one currently touchy subject (“bathroom legislative issues”) with another (the right to own and bear firearms, which is what the Second Amendment to the US Constitution pertains to for you non-Americans).  I won’t venture into the morass that is the latter; I’m no constitutional expert.

“Fear of self centered rights are greater than claims of how the other chooses to dress and appear in public.”

This sentence left me confused.  Were they supporting these “bathroom laws”?  Are they more important than how transgender people present themselves?  And just who are the ones who are self-centered?

“God has a plan of his purpose for all… He doesn’t care if you work His great commission dressed in a lime sport coat or a lime title it ting body con dress, in six inch heals. But your neighbors care.”

Oh, now they get religious all of a sudden.  I’m not one to spout religion but, yes, God loves and forgives us all, or so I was taught as a youngster.  I presume that’s what this person was getting at with this section.  It’s the part about the neighbors that should really leave the trans community afraid.  They commonly use their (misguided) interpretation of The Bible to justify their anti-LGBT beliefs, and as this scary news item proves, they hold sway over those in high castles.

“In my Guy world, if I need to pee, and there’s a old guy sleeping in the men’s can, there’s no law that says I’m not going into a womens, if not I pee on the gas stations floor.”

Um… ew?!  Okay, so he’s a guy.  Is he a crossdresser such as I am?  It kind of sounded like it upon my first interpretation of his comment.  But the more I think of it, the more I can’t help but think, “He’s celebrates being a guy too much to be a crossdresser.”  Of course, I could be wrong.  Still, it’s this section of his comment that made me want to take a disinfectant to my computer screen.

“Thank you for summing that Conservative Transexuals are more wrong than Liberal…  Becareful how you lump every trans into one political and faith group. It could be your brother or sister you shun.”

I had a feeling he wanted to take a political bend in his post, and this was proof.  What irked me here was the comment about shunning.  If he had a clear understanding of my post (and I’m seriously convinced he did not), I didn’t paint every trans person as left-leaning.  Every trans person — and it’s not just transexuals but transgender (there’s a difference in those two terms) — flies their own kite (this person is proof of that).  And I wasn’t shunning anybody, rather just encouraging dialogue between trans people and those who want to shun them.  And as I noted in yesterday’s post, the trans community of late, and the LGBT community as a whole, are still subject to backlash from those at the legislative level, even after all the progress that has come to us.

So, yeah, I was disgusted by this person’s rather disgusting comment.  To his credit, I’ll refrain from using the descriptive of inflammatory, for at the very least he didn’t state outright that I should go to H-E-double-hockeysticks.  But this is my blog, meaning I am master of my domain.  (No, not this way!)  And so what I did was… not just deny approval of the comment (which is why you didn’t see it below that last post), but also mark it as… wait for it… SPAM!  No, not the luncheon meat nor the Monty Python sketch, but the unwanted communication.  If you’re not familiar with the comment approval process in WordPress, there are three options:  You can approve it (or if you really love the commenters, automatically approve it); you can trash it; or you can mark it as spam, at which point the WordPress powers-that-be will probably investigate the sender.

Yeah, I could’ve just trashed the comment, but marking it as spam felt more empowering.  It was as if I was telling this particular comment sender, “Your rambling is almost pure evil.”  A harsh comment on my part?  Probably so, and I apologize for that belief if you disagree.  But at least one other person agrees that spam is the devil’s work — a US Army corporal by the name of Max Klinger.  (Okay, that was in a different context, but still…)

But there was one other important thing I did after deleting that comment:  If you scroll down to the end of the post, you’ll notice that after deleting the comment, I closed off all future comments on the post.  It’s the first time I have ever closed comments to a post on this site, and it will be one of hopefully only two such instances on this blog (after the post you’re reading right now).  One thing I never want to see on this blog is a lot of heat.  Unfortunately, that person’s comments really brought lots of flame to a subject that’s important to those like myself, the desire to not be shunned on account of the gender we identify as.  Hopefully, any future discussions on the subject will be respectful enough so that I won’t have to haul out the extinguisher again.

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Comments are closed.