Allison M.

A crossdresser's thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up

An addendum to my Saturday night

Leave a comment

With my review Music Theater of Madison’s La Cage aux Folles all typed up and posted (and seriously, check it out here if you haven’t done so already), I wanted to add a quick afterthought on my night there.  It’s not about the show but about me.  As I noted in the review, the show took place at FIVE, a LGBT-friendly nightclub here in Madison.  Putting two and two together got me to thinking… hey, what if I attended as Allison and not as Male Mode Me?  I mean, it’s a musical featuring drag queens being held at a club where drag queens perform.  On top of that, it’s the club where I ventured out as Allison for the first time.

Well, I decided against dressing up, but not for the reason you or I would automatically think (any shyness or apprehension on my part).  For one, I didn’t want to be read easily and take away from the real stars of the show, the performers on the stage.  Simply put, I didn’t want to outshine the stars even without trying.  If I did dress up, however, I would and would not stand out from the rest of the crowd.  For one, I didn’t spot anyone dressed up en femme among the audience.  But then again, the performers on stage weren’t the only ones in drag; in fact, some of the FIVE wait staff were glammed up in drag, including the queen who served me (I drove myself to and from the club, thanks for asking, so I had a simple glass of ice water).  But that’s not to say I didn’t let a little bit of Allison out:  I was sitting at a table next to a couple of cute guys; we didn’t talk too much, but when a MTM staffer in a glittering dress walked past, I just had to tell them in a matter-of-fact way, “I really like her dress.”  Yes, the two gentlemen agreed.

The real reason (for sure) that I didn’t dress up was… well, it was way to cold out on Saturday night.  Madison and Wisconsin were in the deep freeze for most of the past 7 days.  On Saturday night in particular, the thermometer hugged the zero degree mark precariously, with wind chills well below that.  I think I mentioned in the past that I was never one to mind dressing up in cold weather too much.  Well, there’s a point where even the (not-quite) bravest of people can say, “Oh, no, this is too much.  I’m bundling up for protection from this ice box.”  But just as the sun rises in the east and sets in the west, the temperature always bounces back up… which will just tempt me further into dressing up and venturing out as Allison, whether the adventure will be at a play, drag show, or wherever.

 

Author: Allison M.

A part of the trans community ("cross-dresser" is the term that applies to me) who finds themselves much more expressive and somewhat more confident when presenting in a feminine persona. An admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly (LGBT or otherwise). Someone who tries to be witty and unique, but is not even remotely perverted or a pariah (I am a real human being, just like you). Using various writing styles on this blog to communicate thoughts and feelings concerning my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large (and maybe impressing my high school creative writing teacher who deservedly gave me middling grades).

Leave a good word or two :)

