Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

#TBT follow-up: Going (way) out (and doing it again?)

Leave a comment

It’s possible that this particular #ThrowbackThursday follow-up may be quite timely, emphasis on the word “possible.”  You see, I’m contemplating about going out for a night on the town.  Yeah, that may not sound like big news for you, and I admit it doesn’t sound like big news to me either.

But it’s not as if I’ve never been out on the town before, let alone doing it as Allison, as the below photo originally featured in this post from April proves:

Yeah, that was me on the first night I stepped out as Allison on the night after Christmas in 2004.  (Yeah, I look pretty awkward, don’t I?)  As I noted in that earlier post, that night at Club 5 was generally a “just get my heels wet and show Allison off for the first time” type of night.  It was a night that led, if every so briefly, to  a few other adventures as Allison in subsequent months.  It was also a night I will never forget, even if my shyness hauled me back into the closet.

However, I recently have had an informal itch to head back to the club again.  Part of it may be a side effect of my most recent rare adventure into Madison en femme, which was my day at the Willy Street Fair in September.  Part of it may also be the fact that I am taking a few days of vacation from work this weekend, which is always good on an insecure psyche.  Add to that the fact that there are a couple of drag shows at FIVE Nightclub this weekend.  No, I won’t be participating (yeah, like I’d ever knock the socks off an audience), but I know it’s an LGBT-friendly establishment.  I mean, I DID go there before, albeit almost 11 years ago.  (Again, note the photo above.)

But then again, there’s that male mode side of me that wants a night on the town, too.  He’s not sure if he wants Allison to tag along, however, just wanting to show the world, well, “this is me, too.”  I imagine my venture to Willy Street in September may be influencing that as well.

Either way, Madison is a town worth exploring, and I want to take the time to do it.  Whether it be as Male Mode Me, fabulous ol’ Allison, or whatever, I am hopeful I’ll have a little bit of fun… and acceptance.

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

