Allison M.

Thoughts on life, fashion, fabulousness, and (oh yeah) dressing up from a full-time male who's a part-time female

Things for me to be thankful for

Leave a comment

The Thanksgiving Day holiday is coming up, a time intended to be thankful for the people and things you care about, but more commonly known for getting together with people you care about to watch parades, consume copious amounts of food, and (if a common assertion is to be believed) fall asleep while watching of the football game on TV.  So, it’s easy to forget about the “being thankful” part, which I’m admittedly guilty of being (I’m not judgmental if you forget, too).  But if I were to compile a list of things to be thankful for, it would look like this:

Living in Madison.  This city is a wonderful place to live in (high rent notwithstanding).  There are so many things to do, so many places to see, and so many open-minded people to be with (the LGBT community here is nothing to sneeze at).  The contrast in atmosphere between Madison and dowdy, boring, and conservative Green Bay (where I called home before moving here) is so stark, I truly believe Madison has helped me become more open as Allison.

My family.  Though they would likely frown upon my dressing up, I wouldn’t know what I’d do without my relatives, especially my four wonderful and talented nieces (they’re all great artists).

The internet.  Since first jumping online way back when, the internet for me has been a platform for expression and communication.  Had the opportunity to express Allison online been impossible, being the gurl I am now would have been less likely, if not impossible.

My online family.  Speaking of family and online, I am thankful for the other family I’ve built connections with through the internet (via this blog, Twitter, URNotAlone, etc.).  You may be a guy or a girl, straight or gay, cis-gender or transgender, a drag performer or closet crossdresser; whoever you may be, you’ve shown yourself to be truly supportive of this part-time gurl, and for that I cannot say “thank you” enough.

My job.  I wouldn’t have a female side without my male side paying the bills, and that’s possible through gainful employment.  Without disclosing too much of my male side, I will say I am an “office drone” in customer service.  No, it isn’t entirely glamorous; heck, it can be really tedious at times.  But I’ve been with my employer for 12 successful years and have built solid professional connections.  I’m so thankful for those connections, and I know they will see me through should I need to seek new employment (which almost happened to me last February; yeah, it was a scary time).

Wow, I guess I do have good reasons to be thankful; here’s hoping you have your own reasons.

Author: Allison M.

Full-time middle-aged male. Long-time overworked office drone. Part-time female fashion plate. Amateur fashionista (emphasis on "amateur"). Admirer and supporter of those who are fashionable, fabulous, and friendly. A little bit silly. Absolutely nowhere near perverted. I am a real human being, just like you. Able to share thoughts about my life experiences, fashion sense, and the world at large despite middling grades in high school creative writing class (but at least I do look cute when I'm writing, so that has to count for something).

Leave a good word or two :)

